Results from June 15th - Johnny Wheeler Memorial

Burnside KY (June 15th, 2018) - The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee RV and the Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by would co-sanction the inaugural Johnny Wheeler Memorial on Friday evening at Lake Cumberland Speedway in Burnside, KY and Tyler Carpenter of Parkersburg, WV would lead all thirty-one laps of the contest and claim the $4,031 payday.
The win by Carpenter made him the fifth different winner with the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series this season and the fourth different winner with the Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series in 2018. Carpenter’s victory would come behind the wheel of his Mike’s Tree Service, Octane Race Parts sponsored #28 Kryptonite Race Car sporting an Isner Race Engine.
The start of the event would see Tyler Carpenter, Jeff Watson, and Jason Jameson race three-wide for the lead on the opening lap of the contest, with Carpenter having the advantage at the stripe, with Jameson hounding Watson and getting past him on lap two, with Watson slowing in turn four on lap three to draw the first caution of the event and pulling pitside for the evening. The restart would see Carpenter maintain the lead, with Jameson, John Ownbey, Michael Chilton, and Aaron Ridley giving chase. The front five would remain the same as Carpenter would begin to work slower traffic on lap nine, while fourth place Chilton would get into the wall in turn two on lap eleven and the caution would wave for debris on the track. The restart would see the top five remain the same, with Jameson challenging Carpenter repeatedly for the lead, especially in turns one and two. With the top five pulling away from the remainder of the field at this point, the third caution of the race would wave on lap eighteen when Stephen Breeding would spin his entry in turn four. The restart would see Carpenter ease away from Jameson a bit, but Jameson would begin to mount a charge and would close back in on Carpenter, while Ridley would work past Chilton for the fourth position on lap twenty-three. The turning point of the race came on lap twenty-six as the leaders began working slower traffic and Carpenter had to check up in turn two to keep from contacting a slower car and this would allow Jameson to take the race lead momentarily, however, disaster would strike Jameson before the lap could be completed as he would spin his machine exiting turn four attempting to lap a slower car and Cameron Marlar, who had started eighteenth in the event, has climbed to the seventh position and would be collected in the melee, Jameson able to continue and Marlar electing to pull pitside for the remainder of the event. The final restart would see Carpenter inch away from Ownbey in the final few circuits and drive to the checkered flag first, with Ownbey claiming second in his first-ever trip to the Bluegrass state to compete, while Ridley garnered third place honors. Chilton and Coffman would complete the top five. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be David Webb, Chicky Barton, Caleb Ashby, seventeenth place starting Ray Cook, and Connor Meade.
Official Summary of Results
Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series/Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series at Lake Cumberland Speedway in Burnside, KY on June 15, 2018
1. Tyler Carpenter-Parkersburg, W.V.
2. John Ownbey-Cleveland, Tenn.
3. Aaron Ridley-Chatsworth, Ga.
4. Michael Chilton-Salvisa, Ky.
5. Todd Coffman-Junction City, Ky.
6. David Webb-Nicholasville, Ky.
7. Chicky Barton-Middlesboro, Ky.
8. Caleb Ashby-Cunningham, Tenn.
9. Ray Cook-Brasstown, N.C.
10. Connor Meade-Clay City, Ky.
11. Steve Stollings-Hazard, Ky.
12. Joey Standridge-Telico Plains, Tenn.
13. Jonathon Couch-Jackson, Ky.
14. Derek Bottoms-Taylorsville, Ky.
15. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
16. Jason Jameson-Lawrenceburg, Ind.
17. Derrick Meadors-Williamsburg, Ky.
18. Kenny Cobble-Cookeville, Tenn.
19. Cameron Marlar-Winfield, Tenn.
20. Daniel Dial-Lawrenceburg, Ky.
21. Stephen Breeding-Isom, Ky.
22. Jeff Watson-Campbellsville, Ky.
Time of Race: 25 minutes, 22 seconds
Margin of Victory: 0.690 seconds
Yellow Flags: 4 (Lap 3, 11, 18, 26)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Tyler Carpenter 1-31
Entries: 26
Overall Top Qualifier: Jason Jameson (Group A) 13.560 seconds
Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award: Steve Stollings
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): Todd Coffman
Highest Finishing Steel/SPEC Engine ($200): John Ownbey
Provisional Starters: Joey Standridge, Derrick Meadors
Dash (4 laps)- Tyler Carpenter, Jeff Watson, Jason Jameson, John Ownbey
Heat One Finish (8 laps/top 3 transfer)- Aaron Ridley, David Webb, Connor Meade, Ray Cook, Joey Notchie (DNS-Jared Hawkins)
Heat Two Finish (8 laps/top 3 transfer)- Stephen Breeding, Jonathon Couch, Derek Bottoms, Elliott Despain (DQ-Cameron Marlar)
Heat Three Finish (8 laps/top 3 transfer)- Michael Chilton, Chicky Barton, David Payne, Kenny Cobble, Joey Standridge, Dalton Brown
Heat Four Finish (8 laps/top 3 transfer)- Todd Coffman, Caleb Ashby, Steve Stollings, Derrick Meadors, Daniel Dial
Consy One Finish (8 laps/top 4 transfer)- Ray Cook, Cameron Marlar, Daniel Dial, Kenny Cobble, Derrick Meadors, Joey Standridge, Dalton Brown, Joey Notchie (DNS- Elliott Despain, Jared Hawkins)

Fast Qualifier- 155 Peyton Harlow- Glasgow, KY 15.17

Open Wheel Heat
(1)4r Ricky Arms (2)155 Peyton Harlow (3)99 Blake Brown (4)48d Keith Denney (5)5x Jamey Neat (6)22 Shawn Hibbard (7)26 Joseph Husband (7)13p Sarah Patrick
(1)4r Ricky Arms- Glasgow, KY (2)Harlow (3)Brown (4)Denney (5)Hibbard (6)Husband (7)Neat (8)Patrick

Fast Qualifier- 11 Matthew King- Paris, KY 15.96

KDRA super Stock Heat 1
(1)20 Glenn Hounshel (2)11 Matthew King (3)33 Wade Daniels (4)8 Robert Stanton (5)24 Terry Cheeks (6)24s Trae Soper-DNS

KDRA Super Stock Heat 2
(1)62 Daniel Stamper (2)L2 Mike Lunsford (3)37h Greg Hensley (4)22 Doyle Hibbard (5)14 Matt Foley

(1)20 Glenn Hounshel- Paint Lick, KY (2)King (3)Lunsford (4)Hensley (5)Cheeks (6)Hibbard (70Stanton (8)Stamper (9)Daniels (10)Foley (11)Soper-DNS

Fast Qualifier- 92x Shane Irvin- Liberty, KY 16.96

KDRA Mini Stock Heat 1
(1)723 Brandon Creech (2)328 Matt Hargis (3)80 Chris Smith (4)43 Pam Deary (5)92x Shane Irvin (10)31 Jesse Parker (7)X Kyle Neat (8)00 Danny Winchester

KDRA Mini Stock Heat 2
(1)1* Greg Hensley (2)215 Mike Wallace (3)321 Jake Duncan (4)48j Les Jackson (5)10m Brayden McWilliams (6)19b Chris Burton (7)64 Dustin Jackson-DNS

KDRS Mini Stock Heat 3
(1)48d Doodle Farris (2)131 Clifford Wagers (3)28 David Owens (4)1b Charles Burton (5)53 Robert Deary (6)4 Anthony Breeden (7)292 Robert Houchens-DNS

(1)92x Shane Irvin-Liberty, KY- started 15th, made pass for the lead coming off turn 4 on last lap (2)Hensley (3)Farris (4)Creech (5)Hargis (6)Jackson (7)Smith (8)Wallace (9)Parker (10)Charles Burton (11)Owens (12)Pam Deary (13)McWilliams (14)Robert Deary (15)Breeden (16)Chris Burton (17)Winchester (18)Duncan (19)Wagers-DNS (20)Neat-DNS (21)Houchens-DNS (22)Jackson-DNS

Mini Cup Cyclone Haet
(1)99 Blake Brown (2)t6 Trevor Thompson (3)H3sr Jason Hinkle, sr (4)H3jr Jason Hinkle, jr (5)14 Dylan Rutherford

(1) 99 Blake Brown- Corbin, KY (2)Rutherford (3)Hinkle, sr (4)Thompson (5)Hinkle, jr

Lake Cumberland Speedway roars back into action SATURDAY, JUNE 23rd with the SUMMER SIZZLER SERIES! McGowan Excavating Late Models- Roark & Sons Transport Open Wheels, Yanders Towing KDRA Super Stocks and Somerset Machine KDRA Mini Stocks! Gates open 3pm Hotlaps 7pm. Grandstands $15 12-Under free Pits $30. For full schedule of events, and all things Lake Cumberland Speedway, visit Like us on Facebook-Lake Cumberland Speedway Dirt Racing, Follow us on Twitter-@lc_speedway, Instagram-LCSpeedway, and on REMIND- TEXT @lcspeed to 81010.  Lake Cumberland Speedway 360 Racetrack Rd Burnside, KY 42519.